Texas Real Estate Directory. Texas Real Estate Agents and Brokers, MLS Search, Property Listings, Texas Foreclosures and Home Loan.
Home    |    Get Listed Here

How to Get a Real Estate License in Texas

In the state of Texas, selling real estate can be a challenging and lucrative profession, but before you can begin your new career you will need to obtain your license. Getting your real estate license takes time, dedication, and a certain amount of financial investment. Here are several steps you should follow:

You will first need to take courses that will teach you about the industry. You will need to take the Principles of Real Estate course, which is 60 classroom hours. You will then need to take the Law of Agency course and the Law of Contracts course, both of which are 30 classroom hours.

After those courses are completed, you will finish your real estate education with another 30 classroom hour core course of your choosing, and two 30 hour courses in core subjects or related subjects. Even after your class work is completed, you will still need to complete the application and testing process before you are granted your license.

Once you have completed your coursework, you will need to have your completion verified. You will need to send transcripts and a $30 processing fee to the state board. Once your coursework is verified, you can take apply for your non-active license. You will need to pay an application fee, which is around one hundred dollars.

The real estate test is administered by an independent company, and you will need to make your test taking arrangements with PSI, not the state board. Once you sign up for your test, you will be able to download practice tests and study materials from PSI’s website. You must take and pass the exam within six months of the date of your application approval.

You will also need to be fingerprinted before you can receive your real estate license. Your credit report will also be checked to see if you have ever defaulted on a Texas state student loan. If you have, you will be unable to become a agent. If you have defaulted on a Texas state student loan, however, you can work with the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation to reach a resolution. If you enter a repayment program, you will become eligible for your real estate license.

All new real estate agents are required to have a mentor. This mentor, who will help you get started in the industry, must be a licensed, practicing agent. Once you find a sponsor, you will be eligible for your practicing real estate license, and you will be ready to begin your new career.

Tags: , ,

Copyright © TexasRealEstateDirectory.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.